It is currently Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:48 pm
Board index » Talking About Stuff » Good Tech



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Author Message

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 4660
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:34 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
My ECU is throwing the VSS code, and after much whinging and seeing JrZook's solution I decided to have a crack.

Vero board and reed switch were about $12 at Jaycar.

Cut out a piece of vero board
Image

Test fit, trim to suit
Image

Drilled mounting holes
Image
Image

Vero board screwed in place with self tappers cut to size
Image

Reed switch soldered into place. These are fragile so be CAREFUL when bending the legs, you can crack the glass tube. Hey JrZook!!
Image

Vero board in place with reed switch mounted
Image

Found a wierd looking screw in my box of bits, soldered a wire to it
Image
Image

The wierd screw fits PERFECT in the side of the speedo housing
Image
Image
Image

When you mount the speedo assy. into the cluster housing that wierd looking screw lines up with one of the holes in the cluster housing...
Image

...which lines up with an unused part of the circuit sheet on the back. I just scraped off the green insulation with a sharp blade
Image

Solder some wires to the vero board
Image

Mount the speedo assy. into the cluster housing. The bolts go through here...
Image

...and come out here
Image

The one on the left just gets a nut on it, that pad that I scraped back is a ground. The one on the right hand side needs to connect to the VSS wire on the ECU. The red thing is a silicon washer to protect the circuit board underneath
Image

Nuts and lock washers hold the eye terminal. I'll crimp a wire on to that terminal which will go to the VSS wire on my ECU.
Image

Big thanks and props go to JrZook!!!

_________________
SJ50.4.LYF

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 3986
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:11 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Great work mate. :-)

_________________
[quote="royce"] I wouldnt mind insulating my rear

 Profile  

Offline
Tubby Elfsdong
Tubby Elfsdong
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 6501
Location: Northside, Brisbane
Vehicle: Coily Sierra

Post Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:16 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Good work Damo...by the time I can afford a 1.6 either yourself and JrZook will be masters at this :wink: :wink:

_________________
Shep is a closet jimny lover!!!!

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 4660
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:42 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Hopefully this will explain a little better just how it works.

The reed switch is normally open and when the magnetised part of the speedo drive passes over it, it closes the circuit.

Here I have a multimeter hooked up to it and am driving the speedo head with a screwdriver. Each time it beeps is a pulse that goes to the ECU. The frequency of these pulses tells the ECU how fast the vehicle is travelling.
Image

_________________
SJ50.4.LYF


Last edited by Damo on Fri Jul 08, 2011 11:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:00 pm
Posts: 8997
Location: Brisneyland
Vehicle: 2006 Jimny JLX

Post Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:50 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
That's pretty cool.

_________________
Click WWW below for STICKERS

 Profile WWW  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 14281
Location: Here there everywhere
Vehicle: A manly awesome man jimny

Post Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:19 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
it has got me fucked how you clever type people come up with this stuff.

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:00 pm
Posts: 8997
Location: Brisneyland
Vehicle: 2006 Jimny JLX

Post Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:23 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
shep wrote:
it has got me fucked how you clever type people come up with this stuff.


I don't even know what vero board is, apart from that it's the copper colour stuff in the pic

_________________
Click WWW below for STICKERS

 Profile WWW  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 5513
Location: Holland Park
Vehicle: Awesome!!

Post Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:12 am 
Reply with quote Top  
shep wrote:
it has got me fucked how you clever type people come up with this stuff.


Someone's gotta do it! Rum deffinatly helps! :wink:

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 14281
Location: Here there everywhere
Vehicle: A manly awesome man jimny

Post Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:19 am 
Reply with quote Top  
JrZook wrote:
shep wrote:
it has got me fucked how you clever type people come up with this stuff.


Someone's gotta do it! Rum deffinatly helps! :wink:


rum drinkers :roll: :lol:

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 4660
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:01 am 
Reply with quote Top  
zukenutter wrote:
shep wrote:
it has got me fucked how you clever type people come up with this stuff.


I don't even know what vero board is, apart from that it's the copper colour stuff in the pic


I just copy other ppl :lol:

Vero board is circuit board material with holes in a grid patter and copper traces in lines. You can make a proto circuit board with it by soldering on your components and cutting the copper traces where you dont want a circuit. Jaycar etc has it.

_________________
SJ50.4.LYF

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 643
Location: Canberra

Post Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:46 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Hey Damo

Is the circuit that you used for the earth already and earth circuit or was it completely unused and you grounded it?

Cheers

Im just trying to do this myself. Also what settings do you use on the multimeter to test it? (I have no idea)

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 4660
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:19 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
canberramav wrote:
Hey Damo

Is the circuit that you used for the earth already and earth circuit or was it completely unused and you grounded it?

Cheers

Im just trying to do this myself. Also what settings do you use on the multimeter to test it? (I have no idea)


The circuit that I connected to was earth already as part of that instrument cluster assembly. That reed switch is normally open, and when the magnet passes over it the circuit closes.

On the multimeter I just used the diode test feature, also known as continuity tester. It just beeps when the circuit is closed.

_________________
SJ50.4.LYF

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 1095
Location: Bulimba, Brisbane
Vehicle: '92 Sierra

Post Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:30 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Damo wrote:

Found a wierd looking screw in my box of bits, soldered a wire to it
Image
Image


Looks like a robot is missing a tooth lol. That screw looks like it's built to go there. Very lucky. How come you can never find things in your junk when I need them :P

Great tech JR and Damo!

 Profile  

Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:33 pm
Posts: 2261
Location: Gold Coast
Vehicle: Daisy

Post Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 11:12 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Just reading this and if you're having trouble finding a screw/bolt like that, just cut a notch in one or use one designed for a flat blade...

 Profile  

Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:55 am
Posts: 151
Location: australia port augus

Post Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:02 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
probly a silly question but is this done with the standard sierra vss thingy or a vitara vss? can i do this with my standard sierra speedo?

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 4660
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 3:33 am 
Reply with quote Top  
4x4zook wrote:
probly a silly question but is this done with the standard sierra vss thingy or a vitara vss? can i do this with my standard sierra speedo?


The speedo in the pics is a Sierra speedo from a WT. The VSS is made from scratch as I didn't have the unit from a Vitara speedo.

_________________
SJ50.4.LYF

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Rosevears Tas

Post Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:03 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
I am guessing that the magnetised part is standard within the sierra head? you just add the pickup sensor? (reed switch)

 Profile  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 5513
Location: Holland Park
Vehicle: Awesome!!

Post Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:22 am 
Reply with quote Top  
TASSIETOYUKI wrote:
I am guessing that the magnetised part is standard within the sierra head? you just add the pickup sensor? (reed switch)


Correcto!

_________________
Lil Foot!
http://tiny.cc/gtsw1

 Profile  

Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:55 am
Posts: 151
Location: australia port augus

Post Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:40 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
thankyou so much!! ive just done this to my zook by following your instructions and what an improvement!! thankyou!

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 12:00 am
Posts: 1832
Location: Brisbane
Vehicle: Sold zuk got a Bt50

Post Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 3:31 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Ok so how do you get the face of the speedo off ???

_________________
bt50 now but still love the zooks

 Profile WWW  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 4660
Location: Brisbane

Post Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:16 am 
Reply with quote Top  
gvzookdriver wrote:
Ok so how do you get the face of the speedo off ???


Gently pull off the speedo needle and unscrew the two small screws in the face. The face itself should then lift off.

_________________
SJ50.4.LYF

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 4252
Location: gong
Vehicle: 2015 Jimny, LJ50

Post Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:22 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
will this work the same witht he n/t cluster?

_________________
www.illawarrasuzuki4wdclub.webs.com

 Profile YIM  

Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 5513
Location: Holland Park
Vehicle: Awesome!!

Post Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:43 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
Pretty sure the speedo mechanism is the same between NT and WT hence yes it will work

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 4252
Location: gong
Vehicle: 2015 Jimny, LJ50

Post Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:51 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
JrZook wrote:
Pretty sure the speedo mechanism is the same between NT and WT hence yes it will work



cool thanks

_________________
www.illawarrasuzuki4wdclub.webs.com

 Profile YIM  

Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:47 am
Posts: 130
Location: Working
Vehicle: s-box Jim,,cam,comm.

Post Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 1:01 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Your defiantly switched on JrZook. (Pardon the pun) That's great thinking :-)

Nice work to Damo. This is a great visual post :-)

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:28 am
Posts: 11092
Location: Mandurah.W.A.
Vehicle: 84 LWB NT

Post Posted: Sun May 18, 2014 10:04 am 
Reply with quote Top  
Grave dig here, but I ended up doing some thing different for the vss and used the vss from vit cluster which bolts straight into the seirra speedo unit (1.3 NT&WT unit) :D

Image

Image

Just another option for vss

_________________
Tell my arse, he actually gives a crap!

 Profile  

Offline
az supporter
az supporter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:07 pm
Posts: 230
Vehicle: 92 wt soft top sierra

Post Posted: Tue May 20, 2014 9:48 pm 
Reply with quote Top  
What model vitara did you use the g16b ones I assume

 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 

Jump to:  


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Untitled Document


Untitled Document


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group :: Style based on FI Subice by phpBBservice.nl :: All times are UTC + 10 hours